Home of the University Blues AFL

34 Seasons. 17 Premierships.

The University club has a proud tradition of excellence in the Auckland Australian Football League. 

Founded in 1981 as the Manukau-University Sundowners, they won the Premiership in their first  three seasons (1981-1983). Changing to their now familiar navy blue and white in 1984, the newly named University Blues established themselves as a consistent performer in the AAFL through repeated Grand Finals appearances through the next three decades. When the AAFL added a Reserve grade competition in 1996, this provided the club with an excellent opportunity to grow talent for future years, and introduced many teenagers into regular AFL competition. This bore fruit for the club in the early years of the 21st century, as University won the Reserve Premiership five times (2000, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2011) and were runners-up on four occasions.

The club managed the unprecedented feat of winning both Senior and Reserve grades in a season on three occasions (2000, 2006 and 2011), a feat not managed once by other clubs. Unfortunately, with other clubs struggling for numbers, the Reserve grade was mothballed following the 2012 season.  However, the University club has continued their ethos of developing young players for the future through tapered introduction in their Senior side and connections to Auckland and national youth competitions. Most recently the Uni Blues have once again taken out the 2014 AAFL  Premiership with a strong performance from many of our players who have developed with the club over a number of years.Further recognition has come for University players at the highest levels as well. Since the first New Zealand sides were selected in 1995, the club has had over 25 players selected for senior, under-18 and under-16 New Zealand teams.